Board of Trustees

IRRI's Board of Trustees (BOT) sets IRRI policy. Its 12 members are world leaders in their respective disciplines. Three are ex officio: the Philippine Secretary of Agriculture, the President of the University of the Philippines system, and the IRRI director general. The board meets twice a year (April and October) to review IRRI's research priorities, and its allocation of resources and to set the Institute's scientific directions, policies, and strategies. The director general is responsible for carrying out these policies. Prof. Jim Godfrey is the current chair of the BOT.

Jim Godfrey

Jim GodfreyJim Godfrey, OBE, DSc, currently serves as the chair of the IRRI Board of Trustees, a position he has occupied since 2016. Jim has a strong professional experience in the management and growth of large-scale farms.

Subbanna Ayyappan

Subbanna AyyappanDr. S. Ayyappan is the Secretary of the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) of the Ministry of Agriculture of India. He is also Director General of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), where he worked previously as Deputy Director General of Fisheries.

Danilo L. Concepcion

Danilo L. ConcepcionDanilo L. Concepcion is the 21st President of the University of the Philippines, a system consisting of seven constituent universities and an autonomous college.

Karen Moldenhauer

Karen MoldenhauerKaren A.K. Moldenhauer is a Professor of Crops, Soils, and Environmental Sciences at the University of Arkansas and a holder of the Rice Industry Chair for Variety Development.

Tahlim Sudaryanto

Dr. Tahlim SudaryantoDr. Tahlim Sudaryanto is Senior Agricultural Economist at the Indonesian Center for Agriculture Socio Economic and Policy Studies (ICASEPS) under the Ministry of Agriculture, the Republic of Indonesia.

Kaye E. Basford

Kaye E. BasfordKaye Basford is a Professor in Biometry at the University of Queensland, where she is currently also President of the Academic Board and was Head of the School of Land, Crop and Food Sciences (2001-2011).

Jiayang Li

Jiayang LiJiayang Li is currently Vice Minister of Agriculture of the People’s Republic of China, President of the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS), and Professor of the Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology (IGDB) of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).

Matthew Morell

Matthew MorellAs director general, Matthew is the institute’s chief executive officer (CEO), directly managing and administering its affairs in accordance with the policies and decisions of the IRRI Board of Trustees.

Suthad Setboonsarng

Suthad SetboonsarngSuthad Setboonsarng is an economist currently serving as a board member of the Bank of Thailand, a board member of Banpu PLC, one of the largest private energy companies in Thailand. He is also a board member of the Cambodia Development Research Institute (CDRI).