Staff profile listing

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


Alberto, Ma. Carmelita 
Senior Associate Scientist 1, Rice and Climate Change, Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD)

Ali, Jauhar
Senior Scientist II – Plant breeder
Project Leader & Regional Coordinator (Asia & East Southern Africa), Green Super Rice (GSR) Project

Ayyappan, Subbanna
Member, Board of Trustees

Back to top


Bahuguna, Rajeev
Postdoctoral Fellow

Bandyopadhyay, Anindya
Scientist I - Molecular Biology, C4 Rice Center

Bairagi, Subir
Postdoctoral Fellow - Foresight Modeling and Strategic Assessment

Basford, Kaye E.
Member, Board of Trustees

Beebout, Sarah
Senior Scienitst I - Soil Chemistry, Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD)

Bhandari, Humnath
Agricultural and Environmental Economist

Bigirimana, Joseph
Regional Coordinator, IRRI-East and Southern Africa

Bitoun, Remy
Head, Public-Private Engagement (PPE) office

Bouman, Bas
Director, Global Rice Science Partnership (GRiSP)

Back to top


Castilla, Nancy
Senior Associate Scientist, Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD)

Castillo, Rowena
Manager - Project Development and Deployment, Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD)

Coe, Robert
Scientist, Plant Phenomics and Photosynthesis

Concepcion, Danilo L.
Ex-officio member, Board of Trustees

Cuevas, Rosa Paula
Scientist I - Sensory Profiling

Back to top


Dar, Manzoor Hussain
Development Specialist - Agricultural Research (South Asia)

Demont, Matty
Senior Scientist I - Market Research and Value Chain

Dingkuhn, Michael
Senior Scientist II - Crop Physiology

Back to top


Godfrey, Jim
Chair, Board of Trustees

Gummert, Martin
Senior Scientist II, Postharvest Unit

Gruner, Mark
Director of Finance

Back to top


Hay, Fiona
Senior Scientist I, Genetic Resources

Henry, Amelia
Scientist II

Hettel, Gene
Senior Consulting Editor and Content Specialist

Htwe, Nyo Me
PhD Affiliate Student

Hughes, Jacqueline
Deputy Director General for Research

Hung, Nguyen Van 
Postdoctoral Fellow

Back to top


Ishimaru, Tsutomu
Senior Scientist - Plant Breeding

Islam, Mohammad Rafiqul
Scientist I - Plant Breeding

Ismail, Abdelbagi
Overall STRASA Coordinator
Head, Genetics and Biotechnology Division

Back to top


Jena, Kshirod
Principal Scientist

Johnson, David
Head, Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD)

Back to top


Kim, Sung-Ryul
Scientist I - Molecular Genetics

Kotch, George
Head, Plant Breeding

Kulkarni, Gururaj Guddappa
Senior Scientist, Research Infrastructure and Operations

Kumar, Arvind
Senior Scientist II - Plant Breeding

Kumar, Virender
Senior Scientist - Weed Science

Back to top


Ladha, Jagdish K.
Principal Scientist

Leung, Hei
Principal Scientist - Plant Pathology

Li, Jiayang
Member, Board of Trustees

Li, Tao
Scientist-Crop Modeler

Back to top


Magor, Noel
Head, Training Center

Manzanilla, Digna
Social Scientist, CURE coordinator and CURE gender focal point

Marcaida, Manuel III
Assistant Scientist, Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD)

Meah, Nafees
IRRI Representative for South Asia

Mohanty, Samarendu
Head, Social Sciences Division (SSD)

Moldenhauer, Karen
Member, Board of Trustees

Mondal, Manoranjan Kumar
Project Scientist

Morell, Matthew
Director General, IRRI
Ex-officio member, Board of Trustees

Murori, Rosemary
Scientist-Rice Breeder, IRRI-East and Southern Africa Hub

Myint, Ohnmar
MS Scholar

Back to top


Ndayiragije, Alexis
Scientist II-Rice Breeder, IRRI-East and Southern Africa Hub

Noguchi, Akinori
Member, Board of Trustees

Back to top


Oliva, Ricardo
Scientist, Host plant resistance

Back to top


Pede, Valerien
Agricultural Economist, Social Sciences Division (SSD)

Phong, Ngo Dang
Postdoctoral Fellow and Facilitator for ACIAR project in Vietnam

Piñol, Emmanuel
Ex-officio Member, Board of Trustees

Back to top


Quick, William Paul
Principal Scientist and Head of C4 Rice Project

Quilty, James
Head, Zeigler Experiment Station (ZES)

Back to top


Radanielson, Ando Mariot
Postdoctoral Fellow

Reinke, Russell
Senior Scientist a

Rickman, Joseph
Senior Scientist II a

Russell, Timothy
Chief of Party, CSISA-Bangladesh

Back to top


Sackville Hamilton, Ruaraidh
Head, TT Chang Genetics Resources Center and International Rice Genebank

Sander, Bjoern Ole
Climate Change Specialist, Crop and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD)

Setboonsarng, Suthad
Member, Board of Trustees

Sharma, Rita
Member, Board of Trustees

Sharma, Sheetal
Scientist I, Soil Science/Nutrient Management - South Asia

Singh, Rakesh Kumar
Senior Scientist II, Plant Breeding, Genetics, and Biotechnology Division (PBGB)

Singh, Sudhanshu
Rainfed Lowland Agronomist, South Asia

Singh, Uma Shankar
Senior Scientist II, South Asia Regional Project Coordinator for STRASA project, and acting Country Representative for IRRI-India and -Nepal

Singleton, Grant
Principal Scientist Coordinator, Irrigated Rice Research Consortium (IRRC)

Sreenivasulu, Nese
Head, Grain Quality and Nutrition Center (GQNC)

Sudaryanto, Tahlim
Member, Board of Trustees

Back to top


Tolentino, V. Bruce J.
Deputy Director General for Communication and Partnerships

Back to top


Veettil, Prakashan Chellattan
Agricultural Economist

Vera Cruz, Casiana
Senior Scientist II - Plant Pathology

Back to top


Wassmann, Reiner
Coordinator, Climate Change Research

Back to top


Xie, Fangming
Senior Scientist and Plant Breeder

Back to top


Yadav, Sudhir
Irrigated Systems Agronomist

Back to top


Zaini, Zulkifli
Country Liaison Scientist, IRRI-Indonesia

Back to top

Subbanna Ayyappan

Subbanna AyyappanDr. S. Ayyappan is the Secretary of the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE) of the Ministry of Agriculture of India. He is also Director General of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), where he worked previously as Deputy Director General of Fisheries.

Danilo L. Concepcion

Danilo L. ConcepcionDanilo L. Concepcion is the 21st President of the University of the Philippines, a system consisting of seven constituent universities and an autonomous college.

Karen Moldenhauer

Karen MoldenhauerKaren A.K. Moldenhauer is a Professor of Crops, Soils, and Environmental Sciences at the University of Arkansas and a holder of the Rice Industry Chair for Variety Development.

Jim Godfrey

Jim GodfreyJim Godfrey, OBE, DSc, currently serves as the chair of the IRRI Board of Trustees, a position he has occupied since 2016. Jim has a strong professional experience in the management and growth of large-scale farms.

Kaye E. Basford

Kaye E. BasfordKaye Basford is a Professor in Biometry at the University of Queensland, where she is currently also President of the Academic Board and was Head of the School of Land, Crop and Food Sciences (2001-2011).

Jiayang Li

Jiayang LiJiayang Li is currently Vice Minister of Agriculture of the People’s Republic of China, President of the Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS), and Professor of the Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology (IGDB) of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).

Matthew Morell

Matthew MorellAs director general, Matthew is the institute’s chief executive officer (CEO), directly managing and administering its affairs in accordance with the policies and decisions of the IRRI Board of Trustees.